Quick answer: Start with the free official material before you pay anyone: Discover Canada is the only official study guide, IRCC publishes it at no cost in HTML, PDF, EPUB and MP3, and every legitimate question bank is derived from it. For free practice in the real format, the Richmond Public Library’s long-running online practice test is the best-known free option and needs no app and no account. Paid apps earn their money on structure and repetition — balanced mock tests, review decks, offline access — so buy one only if you know you will not build that routine yourself.
How to judge a citizenship test app
The test itself is small and well defined: 20 multiple-choice and true/false questions drawn from the topics in Discover Canada, with 15 correct answers to pass. (Our guide to how the test works covers the format in full.) That means an app cannot differentiate itself on secret content โ there is no secret content. What it can differentiate on is:
- Format fidelity. Does it give you 20-question timed runs balanced across chapters, or just an endless quiz?
- Explanations. A wrong answer is only useful if you learn why it was wrong.
- Offline access. Study time is commute time for most applicants.
- Cost and commitment. Most people need a few weeks of study, not a year-long subscription.
The comparison at a glance
| Resource | Platforms | Price model | Works offline | Account required |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discover Canada (IRCC, official) | Web (HTML), PDF, EPUB e-reader, MP3 audio | Free | Yes, once downloaded | No |
| Richmond Public Library practice test | Web browser | Free | No โ it is a web page | No |
| Canadian Citizenship Test 2026 (M. Rahman) | iPhone, iPad, iPod touch (iOS 15.6+), Mac (M1+) | Free with ads; Remove Ads $4.99 for 6 months or $9.99 lifetime | Not stated in the listing | None mentioned |
| Canadian Citizenship 2026 (Reev Tech Inc.) | iPhone, iPad, iPod touch (iOS 13+), Mac (M1+) | Free with in-app purchases: $4.99 weekly, $9.99 monthly, $22.99 yearly, $39.99 lifetime | Yes โ listing states full offline functionality | None mentioned; developer declares no data collection |
| Canadian Citizenship 2026 Test (J. Rocha Ahumada) | iPhone (iOS 16.4+) | Free with in-app purchases ranging $4.99โ$79.99 | Not stated in the listing | None mentioned |
| MapleCivics (ours โ unreleased, not downloadable) | In development; planned for Google Play. Not published on any store | Not announced | Designed to work without a connection; unverifiable until release | No account in the design; progress stored on the device |
1. Discover Canada โ the only official study guide
Everything starts here. Discover Canada: The Rights and Responsibilities of Citizenship is the official study guide published by IRCC, available at no cost. You can read it online in HTML, download it as a PDF (including a large-print edition), take it as an EPUB for an e-reader, or download the entire guide as MP3 audio โ which is genuinely underrated for applicants who commute or who find listening easier than reading English or French text.
Strengths: free, authoritative, complete, and the source every other product on this page is derived from. There is no account, no upsell and no advertising. When it is the better pick: always, as your foundation. If you only do one thing, read the guide twice and listen to the audio on the bus. Where it stops: it is a book, not a practice engine โ no timed 20-question runs, no tracking of which chapters keep catching you out, no algorithm to resurface your weak spots.
IRCC also publishes a notice about third-party citizenship study guides, tests and questions, which is worth reading precisely because it applies to every app in this comparison, ours included.
2. Richmond Public Library โ the best-known free practice test
Richmond Public Library in British Columbia hosts a free online citizenship practice test built from more than 100 multiple-choice questions derived from Discover Canada, with answers. You can generate a test of 5, 10, 20, 40, 80, or all available questions, so a 20-question run matches the real exam length. The library also publishes a preparation booklet and a Richmond-specific appendix, plus links to help you look up your Member of Parliament and MLA โ the kind of answers that change with elections.
Strengths: free, no account, no app, and produced by a public library rather than a business. When it is the better pick: for many applicants this plus the official guide is genuinely all you need, and we would rather say so than sell you something. Where it stops: it is a browser page, so there is no offline study, no spaced review of the questions you keep missing, and no progress history across sessions.
3. Canadian Citizenship Test 2026 (MAMUNUR RAHMAN)
This long-running iOS app is free with in-app purchases: Remove Ads costs $4.99 for six months or $9.99 for lifetime. It runs on iPhone, iPad and iPod touch with iOS 15.6 or later, and on Macs with an M1 chip or later. The listing describes practice tests with randomised questions mirroring the exam format, topic quizzes across history, government, rights, geography and symbols, interactive flashcards, progress tracking, and light and dark modes, with questions drawn from Discover Canada. It states plainly that it is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Government of Canada or IRCC.
Strengths: a broad free tier and a straightforward one-time way to remove ads rather than a subscription. Worth knowing: the App Store privacy label discloses that "Other Data" is collected for third-party advertising and analytics, and that the app may use data to track you across other companies' apps and websites โ which is the normal trade for an ad-supported free app, but you should know it before you install.
4. Canadian Citizenship 2026 (Reev Tech Inc.)
This is the most feature-complete option in the comparison. The listing advertises 80 lessons, 600+ questions and 30+ tests, province-specific content aligned with official study materials, full offline functionality, audio-enabled lessons with real-time text synchronisation, a glossary with pronunciation guides, progress tracking across chapters and mock exams, and both English and French. It runs on iOS 13 or later and on M1 Macs. Pricing is free-to-download with in-app purchases: $4.99 weekly, $9.99 monthly, $22.99 yearly and $39.99 lifetime, with a special offer price shown for lifetime. The developer indicates no data is collected, and the listing carries an explicit non-affiliation statement.
When it is the better pick: if you want audio lessons alongside practice questions, or if English or French is not your first language and synchronised text-with-audio helps. On features per dollar for a lifetime unlock, this is the strongest paid app we found, and if you are an iPhone user who wants one purchase and no further thinking, it is a reasonable place to spend your money.
5. Canadian Citizenship 2026 Test (JAVIER DE JESUS ROCHA AHUMADA)
A newer iPhone app requiring iOS 16.4 or later, free to download with in-app purchases ranging from $4.99 to $79.99. The listing describes study materials organised across 14 citizenship test chapters, hundreds of practice questions with instant feedback, mock exams simulating the real test, progress tracking to identify weak areas, a glossary of key terms, and dark and light modes, covering history, government, symbols, geography, economy, rights and responsibilities, justice, federal elections and Canada's regions. It also states it is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the Government of Canada or IRCC.
Worth knowing: that in-app purchase range is wide, so check what a given tier actually unlocks before subscribing. The instant-feedback loop is the useful part: seeing why an answer was wrong immediately after answering is how the chapter content sticks.
6. MapleCivics โ full disclosure: this is ours, and you cannot get it
MapleCivics is our own project, and it is not released. It is not on Google Play, not on the App Store, and there is no beta link, no waiting list and no release date. We are including it here because leaving our own app out of our own comparison would be its own kind of dishonesty โ but please read this section as a description of something in development, not a product recommendation.
As designed, it contains 337 original practice questions written in our own words with facts drawn from Discover Canada, organised into the guide's 10 chapters, each with a plain-English explanation; 70 flashcards filterable by chapter; a mock test of 20 questions balanced across chapters against a 30-minute clock with a pass mark of 15; a review deck that resurfaces missed questions until each is answered correctly twice in a row; per-chapter progress and a study-day streak; region selection covering all 13 provinces and territories with capitals and vice-regal titles; and dynamic questions โ Prime Minister, Governor General, premier, Lieutenant Governor or Commissioner, MP โ where you record your own answer with hints pointing to official sources such as canada.ca, gg.ca and ourcommons.ca. There is no account and progress is stored on the device.
What we will not claim: a price, a release date, a rating, or that any of the above is verifiable by you today. It is not, because you cannot install it. Until it ships, the honest recommendation on this page is one of the five options above โ and for most applicants, the free official guide plus the free library practice test is a complete study plan.
How we picked, and what we refuse to publish: every fact in the table comes from IRCC, the library, or the developer's own App Store listing, checked in August 2026 and linked below. We publish no star ratings, no download counts, and no "best overall" trophy. In-app purchase prices and free-tier limits change without notice, so confirm current pricing in the store before buying. We have also not tested question accuracy in any third-party app โ including ours โ against the current guide, and neither has IRCC.
A study plan that costs nothing
- Download Discover Canada from canada.ca in whichever format suits you โ PDF to read, MP3 to listen.
- Read one chapter at a time rather than the whole guide at once. Our chapter-by-chapter study plan sets a realistic pace.
- After each chapter, run a short practice set on the Richmond Public Library site.
- Two weeks out, do full 20-question runs against a 30-minute clock until you are scoring 17 or 18 consistently.
- Look up your current MP, premier and Lieutenant Governor close to your test date, on official sites.
- Only if that routine keeps slipping should you pay for an app โ the value you are buying is structure, not information.
The people who fail are rarely the ones who could not afford an app; our guide on why people fail covers the actual reasons.
Sources
- IRCC โ Discover Canada study guide and its download page (free; HTML, PDF, large-print PDF, EPUB, MP3)
- IRCC โ Citizenship test: study for the test and the notice on third-party study guides, tests and questions
- Richmond Public Library citizenship practice test โ 100+ multiple-choice questions from Discover Canada, selectable test lengths, free
- Canadian Citizenship Test 2026 App Store listing โ developer, price and in-app purchases, iOS/Mac requirements, features, privacy label, non-affiliation statement
- Canadian Citizenship 2026 App Store listing โ developer, in-app purchase prices, iOS/Mac requirements, 80 lessons / 600+ questions / 30+ tests, offline functionality, EN/FR, non-affiliation statement
- Canadian Citizenship 2026 Test App Store listing โ developer, in-app purchase range, iOS 16.4+, 14 chapters, mock exams, non-affiliation statement
- MapleCivics details: our own project source and documentation. The app is unreleased and cannot be verified independently.